And We’re Off….

….Like a Herd of Thirsty Turtles…
Henry Golden’s favorite saying as he packed up his seven children, wife and myriad camping accoutremonts and headed to the desert wilds of Eastern Washington. Me being lodged in the very back of a fully loaded early edition white behemoth International Something-Or-Other ( read Old) precursor to the SUV was only too happy to be off to new topography and well out of the way of the swatting distance of my mother’s hand.

My current swatting distance is comprised of my own myriad of little last minute details so I can “be gone” for three months. What I find more interesting by far is the swatting distance I haven’t seemed to avoid as to the “Why are you doing this? Really? Europe?…Now?…for 3 months?….Do you have ANY idea what you’re 401K is doing….for the last 3 hours… hello…are you New???”

Here’s the thing (and many have said something very similar):

Stop trying to create a breakthrough from within a structure that’s set up to support failure.” Cheryl Richardson – week 26 http://www.cherylrichardson.com/

Ok – So- at the 11th hour I finally own that this trip – journey – sojourn -whatever you want to label it – and albeit on a grander scale represents my Light Gap – is really about creating a breakthrough for myself that I have been unsuccessful in accomplishing by staying put in my current environment, current structure. A valient effort but – at the end of the day – or, in my case – a couple of decades – a failure. Perhaps not dismal but ultimately not satisfying or fulfilling – to say the very least.

Let’s just see what a completely new environment, time zone, cuisine, culture, and language can do to shake up my status quo – and what this venture down Alice’s rabbit hole has to offer.

At 7:05AM this Friday 8/12 – I take off down that rabbit hole to the next chapter of my particular universe. Sage advice – “Keep your hands inside the ride at all times!!” (author unkown but a great movie as I recall)

Signing off with the idea or suggestion that perhaps we all have an enviroment/structure we might want to tweak in our favor and the favor of those we care about. So – just a thought – how thirsty are your turtles?

Care to Share Your Thoughts?